“Great leaders listen loudly” and other ideas to get you thinking

One blog I always read is that of Naomi Simson, founder of RedBalloon. I love the way that she values people, is innovative, leads with a sense of fun, valuing relationships. Her blogs are short and to the point, practical ideas to get you thinking, inspirational.

The latest article is about listening:

… as leaders we don’t have all the answers – sometimes we are just so much better off to not say anything. I was recently in a planning meeting and because I am the founder of RedBalloon and have been hanging around for 11 years – I found that if I spoke in the planning meeting then a disproportional amount of attention may have been attached to my thoughts.

As a leader my job was to listen, both inside and outside the business.

Silence works.

From White House on Flickr

Leave a Reply

